Home

IMG_1338

Since my growing spurts and even before, I loved reading. The pictures made me want to join in, be apart of the fun in the garden with the spotty dog chasing the ball. Gradually I worked my way up through the ages to the classic Jacqueline Wilson. To me there is nothing in this world like a good book. How you get so drawn in that these characters simply written on paper through someone else’s mind. The pages are full of nothingness. Nothingness can change everything. All you have to do is pick it up, sit down and open the first page. The part when you meet someone. Turning the pages introduces you to a life full of characters that never existed before but the story and life they have to tell you keeps you turning that page to find out what happens next. All of a sudden they’ve gone from nothingness to making your heart race and hold your breath, laugh and cry. We walk past nothingness everyday. Here’s my top 5 books that changed my nothingness.

The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe – C.S LEWIS.

It seems a million hours ago I picked up this book but I still remember how excited I was when the children realised they could stop into Narnia just through the back of a plain, simple wardrobe. To step into another world just like that. This book I must have read at least 5 times.

Through The Looking Glass – Lewis Carroll

For those of you that don’t know this is Alice in Wonderland. A brilliant story about a young girl who falls down a rabbit hole and you follow the madness of her dream throughout. Although through the looking glass isn’t quite like the cartoon, you’ll find many, many differences.

The millennium Trilogy (The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo) -Stieg Larsson

If I ever read a better-written book I would be astounded. The characters are real people whilst you are in those pages. Such an incredibly written set of books I find it hard to believe anyone else can do it better. The storyline, the depth of the characters, how real to life cruelty can be inflicted upon others. I personally think he’s incredibly genius as a writer.

Crime and punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Fyodor was a Russian writer. Crime and punishment was a book that really hit home hard. It was written in the 1800’s and was about a young boy who wanted to be the next Napoleon. He does something unspeakable undutiful and the only person to hand to help him out of his madness is a prostitute. Life triggers on until one day he couldn’t handle what violent act he had done and came forth to the police. The words and ending are nothing like you would expect and it really puts meaning into life.

The Dating Sabbatical – Gemma Burgess

As a grown up, responsible woman I had quite frankly had enough of men. In all senses. They drove me up the pissing wall. So fate must have showed me the way to find this book. She had had enough of anything with a penis attached to it (big or small) and after a break up decided no men. What could go wrong? So she sets out her rules. No Kissing, no taking numbers, no flirting etc etc. I laughed so much throughout this story, the characters were hilarious and the best thing is it really is true to life. If you’re going through a bad patch with a guy read this. Just trust me.

A book is never just nothing. Some you’ll hate some you’ll love and some will even leave you masturbating over “Miss Nothingness”

The Bella Effect © 2014

Leave a Reply

